Posted by: apowell5012 | September 11, 2010

The Orgin of our Blog Title

A little over 2 years ago we were waiting, and waiting and waiting for our daughter to be born and welcomed into our family via an open adoption.  I told Scott of my desire to write during this waiting period and as a result he opened up this blog for me to share my thoughts about parenthood, adoption and yes, waiting.   Any parent knows that time of waiting before a child arrives, and in an adoption, your only link to when the waiting will end is the phone call…

2 years and 2 days ago we got that phone call–we were about to become parents!  We were going to name her Lily Avila after Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha (who was known as the Lily of the Mohawks) and Teresa of Avila.  Blessed Kateri is my favorite Saint being a humble, young Native American girl who loved the outdoors and loved Jesus.  The St Teresa of Avila influence was our way of honoring Lily’s 15 year old birth mom.  Teresa of Avila as best I can tell from her diaries was extremely strong willed but also extremely kind and charitable.  To us, this was Lily’s birth mom in a nutshell!

There is so much that could be said about her birth story and the beginning of our open adoption.  But for now I want to focus on the gratitude I have for Lily’s life and for us being a part of it!  We chose this blog title not just because of Lily’s name and the time it represented, but also for the trust we have in God and how he really does care for us and our needs.  Two years have gone by and we have decided to make it a family blog.  I think my reflections 2 years ago turned into concrete actions like buying onesies and cloth diapers.  And once the waiting was over, well, we had a baby and now 2 years later there is so much more to write about!

Now we begin a new waiting–for that of a sibling for Lily and a 2nd child for us.  We are on a list to a list, so really it could be years, but we are praying that by this time next year we have news of a little one arriving.  We also run an adventure program in the mountains of Colorado called Camp Wojtyla and are waiting on the county to allow us to operate on new land for our faith based adventure programming.  And so we wait, knowing that if God cares for the Lilies of the field, He will indeed care for us…


Responses

  1. I love this picture! What a great article Annie and Scott. I see pictures of you and I miss you so much. I am inspired by your patience in your waiting and I pray that your prayers and hopes for a sibling for your beautiful Lily will be answered very soon. PRayers to you!

    Love,
    Sarah

  2. I love this! You are a beautiful family!

  3. Hi Annie,

    I met you only for one day back in KY about 5 years ago now. But your loving and caring presence has always stayed with me! I hope I can in some way help your camp out? My dad is an attorney and works with real estate maybe you could use his expertise in getting the extra land for your camp? Let me know.


Leave a comment

Categories